Major Sponsors

Healthy Debate is made possible thanks to the generous support of the Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto and the Ontario SPOR Support Unit (OSSU). As part of our funding partnership with OSSU, a small portion of our articles and Faces interviews highlight research that is supported by this organization. None of our sponsors are involved in the research, writing or editing of the articles.

The Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto is one of the largest in North America, with 800 full-time faculty members and 600 post-graduate trainees working in many hospitals and clinical practice sites across the Greater Toronto Area. One third of Canada’s and one half of Ontario’s internal medicine specialists received their training in the department. A commitment to equity, diversity and professionalism, and a philosophy of innovation, creativity and continuous quality improvement, informs everything the department doesdeptmedicine.utoronto.ca


The Ontario SPOR SUPPORT Unit (OSSU) is a collaboration across 12 leading health Research Centres, supported by a Coordinating Centre, which facilitates, connects and integrates activities across the network. The initiative engages researchers, patients, clinicians, policy makers, industry representatives and other health system professionals to implement Canada’s Strategy for Patient-Oriented Research within Ontario. ossu.ca

Individual Supporters

Our sincere thanks to these individuals, who have supported Healthy Debate through a generous personal donation:

Abraham BornIrfan DhallaMaureen Taylor
Andreas LaupacisJames MacleanMike Tierney
Anne LyddiattJeremy PetchNorman Umali
Arthur SlutskyJesse MacKinnonPaul Grootendorst
Carole McMahonJill KonkinPeter Dodek
Carolyn HudsonJoe RustadRobert J. Howard
Cathy RoozenJohn HogenbirkSachin Pendharkar
Charlotte CraigJohn SprouleTerrence Sullivan
Christopher DoigJoshua TepperThomas Feasby
David HenryJudith GlennieTimothy Caulfield
David JuurlinkKaren BornTom Auger
David MusyjKaren FruetelTom Closson
Don DickKatie LundonTupper Bean
Dorothy PringleKaveh ShojaniaVerna Yiu
Ed WeissKevin ImrieWill Falk
Elizabeth RankinLinda MurphyWilliam R. C. Blundell
Elizabeth StirlingMarilyn KnoxYoni Freedhoff
George ThomsonMark CheungRobert Turner
Lynda CovelloDeloitteDrs. B. & S. Shah MCP
Chris MacDonaldJan HuxLeslie Ayre-Jaschke
Nancy MacCallum

We are also extremely grateful to the following individuals who donated to Healthy Debate’s photodocumentary project, Faces of Health Care:

Dilawri Group of CompaniesVictor TronIvy Cheng
Kathy BoueyGraham ScottArthur Slutsky
Tom ClossonLeslee ThompsonDavid Toole
Dennis KendelCatherine HofstetterThomas Parker
Jason ManayathuFahad RazakAshvin Moorjani
Tom NoseworthyJanet BrownJudith Glennie
Reena PattaniSJH SpriggeAngela Morin
Danyaal RazaPeter G M CoxMira Marwaha
Johnny ChiengRishi SahelJoan McPhail
Robert SargeantOrla Smith-CallananNancy Gill
Anne-Marie TynanDarren LarsenPhilippe Chouinard
Jill KonkinHarvey A ThomsonMelissa Bonnetsmueller
Gail MacKeanKevin WebsterKaren Fruetel
Leslie Ayre-JaschkeAnne LyddiattJeff Leung
Samar SaneinejadPeter MacLeodLaura Puopolo
Suzanne TurnerMatthew MorganSachin Pendharkar
Debra BournesJoshua TepperHannah Chung
Joe and Jen RustadJoann TrypucJean Gray
Mike TierneyNavindra PersaudMaureen Taylor
Timothy CaulfieldIrfan DhallaJeremy Petch
Seema MarwahaTom Auger

If you would like to support Healthy Debate with a tax-deductible donation, click here! Healthy Debate receives ongoing financial support from Andreas Laupacis’ Canada Research Chair in Health Policy and Citizen engagement, through the Canadian Foundation for Innovation. Office space is provided to Healthy Debate by the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital. Donations to Healthy Debate are processed by the St. Michael’s Foundation.